Guides · Car seats · Joie
How do I find the manufacture date on a used Joie i-Size seat?
How do I find the manufacture date on a used Joie i-Size seat?
Two facts frame the search. UN Regulation No. 129 paragraph 4.2 requires every approved restraint, 'except the strap(s) or harness', to be 'marked clearly and indelibly with the year of production', so the year is on the seat somewhere. And Joie's UK product-registration form has separate fields for serial number, model number and date of manufacture, so Joie prints all three on the product. What Joie does not publish, on its support pages or in the i-Spin 360, i-Gemm 3 and i-Snug 2 manuals, is a diagram of where the sticker is or the date format. So this is a search, not a lookup.
- Turn the seat over and photograph the whole underside On infant carriers from makers who do document the position (Britax Römer, Kinderkraft, Cuggl, Halfords) the approval label and the batch or serial label are on the underside of the shell. Start there on a Joie. Look inside the channel the car belt runs through and around the base-connection points.
- Find the orange approval label first It carries the E in a circle, 'UN Regulation No. 129/03' on the current Joie models, the model name and the height range. Read it with the label decoder. The date is not usually on this label.
- Find the product label with the barcode On makers who document it (Britax Römer, Maxi-Cosi) this is a white label carrying the serial number and a date or date code; Joie's form implies the same three fields are printed somewhere on the seat. Photograph it flat and in focus; you will type from the photo later.
- Check the base separately A Joie i-Base Encore or i-Base 2 has its own manual and its own label on its underside. Its date and serial are independent of the carrier's.
- Look for moulded marks If no printed date is visible, check the bare plastic of the shell for a moulded year or a date wheel. R129 allows the year to be a direct marking rather than a label.
- Write down model, serial and date together Then match the model to the correct manual on Joie's UK help centre and run the model and serial through the recall records described below.
We could not verify the exact sticker position or date format for Joie seats from any Joie document, so this page does not state one. If the seller cannot show you a photograph of the label with a legible date, treat the date as unknown.
Which Joie model and serial details should I ask the seller to photograph?
Joie's registration form is the checklist: model number, serial number, date of manufacture and date of purchase. Ask for the underside photographed so that every one of those is legible, plus the orange approval label. Then compare with what Joie publishes for the model.
Swipe sideways for the full table
| Model | Approval on Joie's page | Height and weight range | Fitting | Manual |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Joie i-Snug 2 | ECE R129/03 | Rear-facing from birth, 40 to 75 cm, 3-point harness | On its base or with the car's seat belt | Joie UK help centre, i-Snug 2 manual and specs; separate i-Base Encore manual |
| Joie i-Gemm 3 | ECE R129/03 | Rear-facing from birth, 40 to 85 cm, 3-point harness | On its base or with the car's seat belt | Joie UK help centre, i-Gemm 3 manual and specs; separate i-Base Encore manual |
| Joie i-Spin 360 | ECE R129/03 | Rear-facing 40 to 105 cm; forward-facing from 15 months, 76 to 105 cm; 5-point harness. Manual: child weight ≤ 19 kg | ISOFIX and load leg, base included | Joie UK help centre, i-Spin 360 manual and specs, plus a fitting list |
A mismatch matters. If the label reads 40–85 cm but the seller calls it an i-Snug 2, one of them is wrong. If the label reads R129/01 on a model Joie lists as R129/03, it is an earlier version of the type and the current manual may not describe it exactly.
Why does the manufacture date matter, and does Joie publish a usable life?
RoSPA's second-hand advice includes 'check the manufacturer's advice about how old the seat should be before it needs to be replaced', and notes that second-hand seats 'are also likely to be older, to have suffered more wear and tear and may not be designed to current safety standards'. The date is how you apply that advice. But it only works if the maker publishes a figure.
Joie does not. We read the i-Spin 360, i-Gemm 3 and i-Snug 2 manuals, the Joie UK FAQ page and the Joie UK warranty page on 9 September 2026. None states a maximum number of years a Joie car seat may be used. Joie's warranty is 'a 2-year warranty from the original date of purchase', extendable to three years by registering. That is a warranty period, not a usable-life limit, and this page will not turn it into one. If you have seen a 'Joie six-year rule' online, it is not on Joie's UK pages or in these manuals.
What Joie's manuals do say about a used seat is blunt. The i-Spin 360 manual: 'This enhanced child restraint should be replaced when it has been subject to violent stresses in an accident. An accident can cause damage to them that you cannot see', and 'DO NOT use this enhanced child restraint if it has damaged or missing parts.' The i-Gemm 3 manual adds that the seat must not be used 'without the soft goods'. Joie's support pages for all three models carry the same line: 'if it has been through an accident, retire it and replace it'.
Joie, i-Spin 360 instruction manual (Warning section): "NEVER use a second-hand enhanced child restraint or an enhanced child restraint whose history you do not know because it may have structural damage that compromises your child's safety."
So for a Joie the date does a different job from the one it does for a Britax or a Cybex. There is no Joie number to compare it with. It tells you which era of the model you have, which manual applies, and whether the seller's 'bought it last year' holds up. It cannot tell you the seat is within a limit, because Joie has not set one.
Where do other brands print the date, and what usable life do they state?
For comparison, here is what other major makers document about the date or serial position and usable life. Only brands whose own pages or manuals we could read are included; Silver Cross and Graco support content could not be retrieved on 9 September 2026, so they are left out rather than guessed.
Swipe sideways for the full table
| Brand | Where the maker says the date or serial is | Stated usable life | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Joie | Not documented. Registration form asks for model number, serial number and date of manufacture | None published in the manuals or UK support pages checked | joiebaby.com/uk registration and warranty pages; i-Spin 360, i-Gemm 3, i-Snug 2 manuals |
| Britax Römer | Orange approval label 'on the bottom of the infant carrier'; serial barcode label illustrated on the underside of the shell (BABY-SAFE 5Z/5Z2) | No 'official expiration date', but endorses guidelines of 7 years for infant carriers and harnessed seats and 12 years for combination and high-back booster seats, from first use | baby-safe-check.com; Britax Römer UK FAQ |
| Cybex | 'Serial number (see sticker)'; position not stated. Approval label reproduced on the manual's certification page | Sirona S i-Size: 'approx. 8 years'. Solution G i-Fix: 'Do not use this car seat for more than 11 years' | Cybex user guides, Sirona S i-Size and Solution G i-Fix |
| Maxi-Cosi | FamilyFix Slide Pro base: 'the manufacturing date on the label on the underside of the base at the white label'; date entered as DD-MM-YYYY; 10-digit reference; serial on the same sticker | Not stated on the pages checked | maxi-cosi.co.uk check-your-product page (2026 base recall) |
Britax Römer's reasoning for its figures: standards are updated, designs evolve, and 'functional parts of the products may have reduced performance due to wear or exposure to external factors'. Cybex's manuals say much the same about UV and heat, and tell owners to check plastic and metal parts 'regularly for damage or change of shape or colour'. Those mechanisms act on a Joie shell as much as any other.
How do I cross-check a Joie model against GOV.UK recalls?
With the model name, model number and serial from the label, the recall check takes a few minutes.
- Search the GOV.UK Product Safety Alerts, Reports and Recalls list for 'Joie' and for the model name. Notices name the model and the affected batch or serial range, and say where on the product the code is printed.
- Search the EU Safety Gate database for the brand and model. Joie sells the same hardware across Europe; a Safety Gate alert is not a UK recall but is a reason to dig further.
- Open Joie's UK 'Product Updates' page (joiebaby.com/uk/product-updates) for voluntary notices that may not have a GOV.UK entry.
- Compare the serial or batch on your photograph with the range in any notice. A different range is not covered by that notice, but notices are widened, so note the date you checked.
On 9 September 2026 a keyword search of the GOV.UK list for 'car seat' returned recall notices for Britax (BABY-SAFE 5Z/5Z2, 2403-0229), Kinderkraft (I-CARE, 2406-0091), Cuggl (2408-0096), Halfords Essentials (Nyala R129, 2509-0032), My Babiie (2409-0014), Puggle (2307-0090), Venicci (Engo, 2404-0105) and a Maxi-Cosi base (2605-0109). The only Joie notice in the results was for a baby swing (2603-0090), not a car seat. That is what no recall on file looks like for Joie car seats on that date. It describes the database, not the seat in front of you: Not found ≠ safe.
The full method, including how to read 'recall from end users' against 'safety report', is in how to check a second-hand car seat against recall records. MayTally's official-records lookup is a shortcut to the GOV.UK notices for baby kit, not a replacement for the GOV.UK search.
What does an unreadable or altered label mean for a used Joie seat?
Without a legible model number and serial you cannot register the seat with Joie, match it to a recall notice or prove which manual applies. Britax Römer lists lost 'parts, labels and instructions' among the reasons it does not recommend a second-hand seat; the point is general. A label that has been scraped, painted or replaced with a printed copy is not a gap to work around.
In shortThe year of production is on every approved seat by regulation, and Joie's registration form confirms it prints a manufacture date and serial. Photograph the underside, find both, match the model to Joie's UK support page. Do not expect a Joie 'expiry' figure: none is published, and Joie's own manual says never to use a seat whose history you do not know. The date gives you the era and the manual; the recall list gives you what is on file; neither tells you the seat has not been in a crash.
Questions parents ask
- Does Joie say how many years a car seat can be used?
- Not in the i-Spin 360, i-Gemm 3 or i-Snug 2 manuals, nor on the Joie UK FAQ or warranty pages, as read on 9 September 2026. Joie's warranty is two years from purchase, three with registration; that is not a usable-life limit.
- Can I register a second-hand Joie seat?
- Joie's UK form asks for model number, serial number, date of manufacture, date of purchase and proof of purchase. Whether Joie accepts a registration without the original receipt is not stated; the extended three-year warranty runs from the original purchase date.
- Is the manufacture date on the orange label?
- Usually not. The orange label is the approval mark. UN Regulation No. 129 separately requires the year of production to be marked on the restraint; makers who document it (Maxi-Cosi, Britax Römer) put date and serial on a white barcode label nearby.
- Which Joie manual do I need for a used seat?
- The one for the exact model name and approval series on the label. Joie's UK help centre has a 'manual and specs' article per model with the PDF; infant carriers also have a separate base manual.
- If Joie has no recall on file, is the seat fine?
- No recall on file means no notice matched on the day you searched. It does not cover crash history, missing parts or age. Joie's own manual, RoSPA and OPSS all say not to use a second-hand seat whose history you do not know.
Sources
Official pages first. If this page and the official page disagree, the official page wins.
- EUR-Lex — UN Regulation No 129 (paragraph 4.2: year of production marking) — checked 9 September 2026
- RoSPA Child Car Seats — Second hand child seats — checked 9 September 2026
- GOV.UK — Product Safety Alerts, Reports and Recalls (OPSS) — checked 9 September 2026
- GOV.UK — Consumer products: buying second-hand goods (OPSS) — checked 9 September 2026
- Joie UK — Register your product (fields: model number, serial number, date of manufacture) — checked 9 September 2026
- Joie UK — Warranty — checked 9 September 2026
- Joie UK — Product Updates — checked 9 September 2026
- Joie UK support — i-Spin 360 manual and specs — checked 9 September 2026
- Joie UK support — i-Gemm 3 manual and specs — checked 9 September 2026
- Joie UK support — i-Snug 2 manual and specs — checked 9 September 2026
- Joie — i-Spin 360 instruction manual (PDF) — checked 9 September 2026
- Britax Römer UK — FAQ (expiration date; second-hand seats) — checked 9 September 2026
- Britax Römer — BABY-SAFE 5Z / 5Z2 check (label and serial location) — checked 9 September 2026
- Cybex — Sirona S i-Size user guide (product lifespan; serial number) — checked 9 September 2026
- Cybex — Solution G i-Fix user guide (11-year limit) — checked 9 September 2026
- Maxi-Cosi UK — Check your product (FamilyFix Slide Pro base: date on underside label) — checked 9 September 2026
- GOV.UK — Product Recall: Maxi-Cosi Family Fix Slide Pro Base (2605-0109) — checked 9 September 2026
This is information, not a guarantee of any payment, and not medical, legal or product-safety advice for your home. Prices and rules change; figures carry the date they were checked. Recall status comes from official records only — a product we cannot find is not a safety all-clear. Tell us if we got a fact wrong.