Guides · Baby monitors · Compare
VTech video monitor versus Motorola monitor: which has better range?
What range does each maker actually publish for its current models?
We read the UK product pages and user guides for three current VTech models and four current Motorola Nursery models on 9 September 2026. The table shows only what the maker states; where a figure is missing, the maker does not publish it on those pages.
Swipe sideways for the full table
| Model (screen) | Radio | Published range | Indoor figure | Parent-unit battery (maker claim) | Out-of-range alert |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| VTech VM819 (2.8") | 2.4 GHz digital, camera to parent unit | Up to 300 m | 50 m | Up to 19 h video, 29 h audio-only; capacity not stated on page | Yes — "No Link to Camera" alert |
| VTech VM818HD (5", 720p) | 2.4 GHz digital, camera to parent unit | Up to 300 m | 50 m | 5,000 mAh; up to 15 h video, 27 h audio-only | Yes — "No Link" alert |
| VTech VM919HD (7", 720p, pan and tilt) | 2.4 GHz digital, camera to parent unit | Up to 300 m | 50 m | Not stated on page | Not stated on page |
| Motorola PIP1610 HD (5", 720p, pan and tilt) | 2.4 GHz FHSS, no Wi-Fi | Up to 1,000 ft (300 m) | Not published | 2,800 mAh; 6 h "playtime" | Yes — out-of-range alerts |
| Motorola PIP1500 (5") | 2.4 GHz FHSS, no Wi-Fi | Up to 1,000 ft | Not published | 2,800 mAh; 7 h playtime | Yes |
| Motorola VM50G (5") — widely sold in UK | 2.4 GHz digital (user guide) | Not stated in user guide | Not published | 2,000 mAh Li-ion; up to 5 h; 16 h to full charge | Video display goes off when out of range (user guide) |
| Motorola VM36XL Touch Connect (5", hybrid) | 2.4 GHz FHSS to parent unit plus Wi-Fi to app | Up to 1,000 ft (parent unit) | Not published | 2,000 mAh; 4.5 h playtime | Yes |
Two things stand out. VTech is the only one of the pair that commits to an indoor number, and it is one sixth of the outdoor one. Motorola's guides for the VM50G and VM483 avoid a distance altogether and say instead that "the range will be affected by environmental conditions" — which is true, and also unfalsifiable.
Why is "up to 300 metres" an open-field figure?
Radio range is measured in a way that flatters every product equally: two units in line of sight, outdoors, no interference. It is a legitimate lab number and a useless household one. Indoors, every wall, floor, mirror and fridge between camera and parent unit takes a slice, and every router, microwave and Bluetooth speaker sharing the 2.4 GHz band adds noise the monitor has to hop around.
The result is that indoor range in a typical UK home lands somewhere between 10% and 30% of the box figure — 30 m to 90 m of walking distance in a modern plasterboard house, often nearer 15–25 m across two floors of solid brick. VTech's 50 m indoor claim (17% of 300 m) sits inside that band. Motorola's guides tell you to expect the same physics: "any large metal object, like a refrigerator, a mirror, a filing cabinet, metallic doors or reinforced concrete … may block the radio signal".
If a listing or review says a monitor "easily reaches 300 m", ask where it was tested. Across a garden, yes. Across a Victorian terrace, no monitor does.
Do VTech and Motorola video monitors use the same kind of radio?
For their non-Wi-Fi video models, essentially yes. Motorola states "2.4 GHz FHSS" (frequency-hopping spread spectrum) on the PIP1610 HD and PIP1500 pages; the VM483 guide lists an operating band of 2405–2475 MHz. VTech's UK pages describe a digital 2.4 GHz link between camera and parent unit. Both sit in the same licence-exempt band as Wi-Fi and Bluetooth, and the rules for that band cap how much power any device may transmit — so neither brand can simply shout louder than the other.
What can differ between two units in the same band:
- Aerial design and orientation. Parent-unit aerials are directional. A unit that holds a link when stood upright can lose it lying flat on a sofa arm. This varies model to model, not brand to brand.
- How the unit handles a weak link. Some drop the picture and keep audio; some freeze; some alarm quickly. Most of the models above document an out-of-range or no-link alert, but how loud and how fast it is varies — read the guide, not the box.
- Video resolution. A 720p stream (VTech VM818HD, VM919HD, Motorola PIP1610 HD) needs more data than a 480 x 272 one (Motorola PIP1500, VM64), so at the same signal level the sharper picture tends to break up first.
- Parent-unit battery. Nothing to do with range, everything to do with whether the unit is still awake at 5 a.m. The Motorola figures above (4.5–7 h screen-on) are all shorter than a night; the VTech figures (15–19 h) are not. See why a monitor battery drains before morning.
How do I compare VTech and Motorola range like for like?
Put the two spec sheets side by side and check these, in this order. If a maker leaves a line blank, treat that as information.
- Same radio type? FHSS-to-parent-unit versus Wi-Fi-to-phone are not comparable. A Wi-Fi model's range is your router's, not the maker's.
- Indoor figure published? VTech gives 50 m. Motorola gives none on the pages we read. A missing indoor number is not a fault, but it means you are comparing an open-field figure with an indoor one if you set 300 m against 50 m.
- Frequency band. Both 2.4 GHz here. A DECT audio monitor at 1.9 GHz is a different animal with a quieter band.
- Out-of-range alert. Present on both, but check the guide for how many seconds pass before it sounds and whether it is a beep, a vibration or just an icon. That decides whether a dropped link wakes you.
- Resolution versus range. If range is your problem, a lower-resolution model in the same family may hold a link slightly longer. That is a trade you can make deliberately.
- Return window. Whichever you buy, run the ten-minute range test on the first evening, while you can still take it back.
When is a VTech likelier to hold a link, and when a Motorola?
Because the radios are equivalent, the honest answer is about circumstances rather than badges.
Swipe sideways for the full table
| Your situation | Leans VTech | Leans Motorola | Why |
|---|---|---|---|
| You want a bedside screen on all night on battery | Yes | No | VTech claims 15–19 h screen-on; Motorola's current models claim 4.5–7 h and expect to sit on charge |
| You want a published indoor range to hold the maker to | Yes | No | VTech states 50 m; Motorola states none |
| You want pan, tilt and zoom on a mid-price 5" unit | Either | Either | VM818HD is fixed; VM919HD and PIP1610 HD both pan and tilt |
| You want a parent unit and a phone app from one box | Either (RM-series) | Either (Connect models) | Both makers sell hybrids; the FHSS link to the parent unit is the range that matters at night |
| You are buying second-hand and range is the worry | Neither by default | Neither by default | A worn battery or an earlier hardware revision changes real-world behaviour; test the actual unit and check its model code on the recall list |
In shortThere is no range winner between VTech and Motorola. Both quote 300 m for a field; only VTech admits to 50 m indoors; both use the same 2.4 GHz frequency-hopping radio. Choose on the parent-unit battery, the alert behaviour and whether the maker publishes the number you actually need — then test the unit in your own house on night one.
Does a Wi-Fi VTech or Motorola solve the range problem?
Only where your Wi-Fi already works. Motorola's Connect models and VTech's RM-series send video to the parent unit over 2.4 GHz FHSS and to your phone over the home network. The phone view reaches anywhere your router does, including the garden — and stops when broadband, the router or the phone's battery does. Expect a delay of a few seconds on the phone that the parent unit does not have.
For a loft nursery behind foil-backed insulation, a Wi-Fi model plus a mesh node on that floor can be the practical fix. For a house where the router lives under the stairs behind a solid wall, it moves the problem rather than solving it.
What should I check on a used VTech or Motorola before relying on its range?
- Model code, not model name. "Motorola 5-inch" covers a decade of hardware. Photograph the label on the parent unit, the camera and the plug.
- Battery. A parent unit that drops the link near the end of the night may have a worn cell, not a range fault. Ask how long it holds a charge.
- Firmware and accounts (hybrid models). Ask for a factory reset and removal from the seller's app account before money changes hands — the NCSC's guidance for any second-hand connected device.
- Recall status. Search the model code on the GOV.UK Product Safety Alerts, Reports and Recalls list and use our step-by-step recall check. No listing means no recall on file — not found ≠ safe.
The Lullaby Trust's position applies whichever badge is on the box: monitors are not a substitute for safer-sleep practice, and for the first six months the safest place for a baby to sleep is in the same room as you.
Questions parents ask
- Does a 7-inch VTech or Motorola have more range than a 2.8-inch one?
- No — screen size does not change the radio. A bigger screen usually means a higher-resolution video stream, which needs more data and can break up slightly earlier at the same signal level. VTech quotes the same 50 m / 300 m for its 2.8", 5" and 7" units.
- Is FHSS better than Wi-Fi for baby monitor range?
- They are different things. FHSS is a direct camera-to-parent-unit link with a fixed range you can test; Wi-Fi range is your router's coverage. FHSS wins for a bedside unit with no dependence on broadband; Wi-Fi wins when you want to check from the garden or another house.
- Can I mix a VTech camera with a Motorola parent unit?
- No. Cameras pair only with parent units from the same maker and usually the same model family. Add-on cameras are sold per model; check the maker's page for the exact list.
- Why does my Motorola guide not give a range at all?
- The VM50G and VM483 user guides we read describe the factors that reduce range but do not state a distance; Motorola's product pages for PIP and Connect models say "up to 1,000 ft". Treat any range you are told for those models as the seller's figure, not the maker's.
Sources
Official pages first. If this page and the official page disagree, the official page wins.
- VTech UK — VM819 2.8" Digital Video Baby Monitor (range 50/300 m; 19 h video) — checked 9 September 2026
- VTech UK — VM818HD 5" High Definition Video Monitor (5,000 mAh; 15 h video; 300 m) — checked 9 September 2026
- VTech UK — VM919HD 7" High Definition Pan & Tilt Monitor (range 50/300 m) — checked 9 September 2026
- Motorola Nursery — PIP1610 HD 5.0" video baby monitor (2.4 GHz FHSS; up to 1,000 ft / 300 m; 2,800 mAh, 6 h) — checked 9 September 2026
- Motorola Nursery — PIP1500 5.0" video baby monitor (2.4 GHz FHSS; 1,000 ft; 2,800 mAh, 7 h) — checked 9 September 2026
- Motorola Nursery — VM36XL Touch Connect (FHSS 1,000 ft plus Wi-Fi; 2,000 mAh, 4.5 h) — checked 9 September 2026
- Motorola Nursery — VM50G user guide (installation guidelines; 2,000 mAh, up to 5 h) — checked 9 September 2026
- NCSC — Buying and selling second-hand devices — checked 9 September 2026
- GOV.UK — Product Safety Alerts, Reports and Recalls (OPSS) — checked 9 September 2026
- The Lullaby Trust — Baby monitors — checked 9 September 2026
This is information, not a guarantee of any payment, and not medical, legal or product-safety advice for your home. Prices and rules change; figures carry the date they were checked. Recall status comes from official records only — a product we cannot find is not a safety all-clear. Tell us if we got a fact wrong.