Guides · Freebies and baby clubs · Family
How can grandparents collect baby freebies on behalf of new parents?
Can someone other than the parent collect a baby freebie?
It depends on what the freebie is attached to. UK baby freebies come in three shapes. Some are attached to a person — a prepaid card with a PIN, a midwife appointment, a loyalty balance in one name. Some are attached to an account — a voucher or barcode that any phone can display. And some are attached to nothing at all — a sale anyone can walk into, a price anyone with a loyalty card can pay. Grandparents can do a great deal in the third group, something in the second, and almost nothing in the first without the parent standing next to them.
None of the clubs we checked on 9 September 2026 publishes a "nominated collector" process of the kind pharmacies use for prescriptions. Where a scheme's own wording answers the question, the table below quotes it; where it does not, the cell says "not stated" and gives you the page to check, because inventing a rule would be worse than admitting the gap.
Which schemes let a grandparent claim, collect or shop — and which do not?
Swipe sideways for the full table
| Scheme | Can a grandparent do it? | What they need | What the provider's page says |
|---|---|---|---|
| NHS Healthy Start card | Shop alongside, not instead | The card holder present with card and PIN | Scheme rules tell the holder to "keep your card and PIN safe"; eligibility is the parent's and is re-checked with benefits agencies every 4 weeks |
| Healthy Start vitamins | Not stated | The Healthy Start card is shown at collection | Official page: "Show your NHS Healthy Start card when you collect"; nothing on collection by another adult |
| Bounty pregnancy folder | No | — | "given to you by your health care professional, at around 12 weeks pregnant"; Bounty says it is "unable to send them by post" |
| Emma's Diary gift packs | Not stated | The voucher barcode from the parent's account, on a phone or printed | Emma's Diary's pages blocked our checker; earlier catalogue notes record "one of each pack per customer" and "resale prohibited" |
| Boots Parenting Club | Own card yes; club not stated | A grandparent's own Advantage Card for points; the club form asks for a child's details | Join form: "Exclusive to Boots Advantage Card members who are expecting a baby or have children under 5"; it does not mention grandparents |
| Morrisons More Baby & Toddler Club | Yes | A grandparent's own More account and the child's age | Help hub: "our dedicated club for parents and carers"; membership ends automatically when the child passes 5 |
| Tesco, Sainsbury's, Lidl, Asda event prices | Yes | The grandparent's own Clubcard, Nectar, Lidl Plus or Rewards account | Event prices are for card holders; no child data is asked for |
| Pampers Club points | Scan yes, redeem no | Their own account if they buy the nappies | T&Cs: "Only the person named as the balance holder (the 'Member') may collect points"; "Participation is on a personal basis" |
| Amazon Baby Wishlist discount | No — but they can buy from the list | The shared list link | "Only the primary registrant of the Wishlist (the person whose Amazon account was used to create the list) can redeem the discount" |
| Bookstart Baby pack | Yes if they are the carer at the visit | Nothing — no form | "your health visitor, registrar or other health professional will give you a free Bookstart Baby pack"; England has a Bookstart Coordinator contact for missed packs |
| Imagination Library | Yes if the child lives at their address | Child's name, date of birth and home address in a covered postcode | Books are "addressed to the child" and local partners enrol "children who live within their area" |
| NCT Nearly New Sale | Yes | Cash or card; sometimes an entry ticket | Sales are open to all; no NCT membership is needed to buy |
| NHS Best Start in Life emails | Not designed for it | — | Sign-up form offers only "Mum", "Dad" or "Partner" and asks for an England postcode |
The pattern is clear enough to act on. Anything that runs on a retailer loyalty card is open to a grandparent with their own card, because the saving belongs to whoever holds the card at the till. Anything that runs on a personal entitlement — Healthy Start, the maternity exemption, Bounty's antenatal folder — stays with the parent, and the honest way to help is to be in the shop or the clinic with them.
Why can't a grandparent use the Healthy Start card?
Because the entitlement is the parent's, not the household's. Healthy Start is claimed by the pregnant person or the parent with responsibility for the child, checked against their Universal Credit or other qualifying benefit, and paid onto a prepaid Mastercard in their name. The scheme rules read on 9 September 2026 set the top-ups at £4.65 a week from 10 weeks of pregnancy, £9.30 a week for a child under one and £4.65 a week from one to four, paid every four weeks, and tell the holder to activate the card, check the balance before shopping and "keep your card and PIN safe".
Official scheme rules do not describe any route for a second card, a nominated shopper or a proxy PIN. If a grandparent does the weekly shop, the practical arrangement is to go together, or for the parent to buy the permitted items themselves and the grandparent to cover the rest of the basket. The vitamins are collected on production of the card — the page does not say whether the holder must be present, so ask the collection point.
Scotland's Best Start Foods works the same way through Social Security Scotland, and a grandparent who is the child's kinship carer applies in their own right rather than through the parent. The application asks for the applicant's own name, date of birth, address, National Insurance number and bank details plus the child's details.
What ID or pack code does a grandparent need at the counter?
For the account-based freebies, the thing the shop scans is a barcode, and a barcode does not know who is holding the phone. That is why the honest answer for Emma's Diary is "not stated": nothing we could read says the collector must be the account holder, and nothing says they need not be. Three practical rules keep you inside every provider's terms:
- Bring the voucher, not the login. The parent can screenshot or print the collection voucher and send it to you. They should not send their email address and password so you can open the app yourself — see the data-protection section below.
- Bring your own loyalty card. Boots points, Morrisons points and supermarket event prices land on whichever card is scanned. If you are paying, scan yours; the saving is real and the child's data stays where the parent put it.
- Do not resell or double-claim. Sample packs are limited to one per customer and marked not for resale. Collecting a pack for the parent is helping; collecting a second one on your own account for the same baby is the thing the terms forbid.
Store staff can refuse a voucher they are unsure about. If that happens, a phone call to the parent standing you at the till usually settles it faster than an argument about terms neither of you has in front of you.
How can a grandparent help without borrowing anything?
- Open your own loyalty accounts Clubcard, Nectar, Lidl Plus, Asda Rewards and a Boots Advantage Card are free and ask nothing about the baby. Baby & Toddler Event prices then apply to your basket.
- Join Morrisons' club as a carer Morrisons describes the Baby & Toddler Club as being "for parents and carers". Join inside your own More account under Account → More ways to Save, and activate offers before you shop.
- Go to the NCT Nearly New Sale Open to everyone, run by local volunteers. Queue early for large items and check safety-critical kit against official records before buying.
- Be the second pair of hands at collections Go with the parent to Boots or Argos for Emma's Diary packs, or to the shop with the Healthy Start card. You carry; they scan.
- Buy from the Wishlist rather than redeeming it Anyone with the link can buy from an Amazon Baby Wishlist and the item is marked as bought. Leave the 15% completion discount to the parent, who is the only person able to apply it.
- Ask the health visitor about Bookstart If you are the main carer at the visit, the Bookstart Baby pack is handed to you. In England a missed pack is chased through the Bookstart Coordinator contact on BookTrust's parents page.
Should the parent give a grandparent their baby club login?
No. It feels efficient and it causes three separate problems. First, most club terms make the account personal: Pampers says participation is "on a personal basis" and only the named member may collect points; Bounty's policy addresses "you" as the member throughout. Second, the account holds the baby's name and date of birth and often the parent's postcode and date of birth — enough for a password reset on another service. Third, data-protection rights are personal. The ICO's guidance says you "only have rights over your own personal information" and "don't have rights over other people's personal information, even if they're family members"; you can act for someone else only with their authority, and a shared password is not that.
- Send the voucher or barcode, not the account.
- Use your own email address for any club you join yourself, and a separate one from your main inbox if you would rather keep baby marketing out of it.
- If the parent wants you to manage an account — say, an Imagination Library enrolment at your address — the account should be in your name, with your details, from the start.
- If a club emails you after a one-off collection, that is your data now: the unsubscribe link and the ICO's spam-email guidance apply to you directly.
In shortGrandparents help most by spending their own loyalty points, shopping the events, buying from the Wishlist and turning up. The freebies that cannot be handed over — the Healthy Start card, the midwife's Bounty folder, points balances and the registry discount — are locked to the parent for good reasons, and no club we read offers a way round that. Keep the parent's login with the parent.
Questions parents ask
- Can a grandparent join Boots Parenting Club with the grandchild's date of birth?
- The join form we read on 9 September 2026 says the club is for Advantage Card members "who are expecting a baby or have children under 5" and asks for each child's name, date of birth and gender. It does not mention grandparents, and the Advantage Card terms were behind a bot check when we tried to read them. A grandparent's own Advantage Card earns standard points on baby lines without joining the club.
- Can I collect Emma's Diary packs for my daughter?
- Emma's Diary's own pages blocked our checker, so we cannot quote a rule. The voucher is a barcode shown on a phone or printed; the store scans it. If she sends you the voucher and you collect in Boots or Argos, you are within the one-pack-per-customer limit as long as no second pack is claimed for the same baby. Do not use her login.
- Can I do the Healthy Start shop for the parent?
- The card and PIN belong to the claimant, and the scheme rules tell them to keep both safe. There is no nominated-shopper route on the official pages. Go together, or split the basket: they pay for the permitted milk, fruit, vegetables, pulses and formula with the card, you pay for the rest.
- Do I need to give a baby club my own details to help?
- Only if you join something yourself. Buying at an NCT sale, shopping event prices on your own loyalty card and collecting a voucher the parent has sent you all work without registering with a baby club. Where you do join — Morrisons' club as a carer, an Imagination Library enrolment at your address — the account should be yours, in your name.
- The baby lives with me. Can I claim the public schemes?
- Healthy Start is claimed by whoever has parental responsibility for a child under four and receives a qualifying benefit, and Best Start Foods in Scotland can be claimed by the person responsible for the child. Kinship carers apply in their own right on the official sites; the freebies page on MayTally lists the application data each scheme asks for.
Sources
Official pages first. If this page and the official page disagree, the official page wins.
- NHS Healthy Start — Scheme rules — checked 9 September 2026
- NHS Healthy Start — Getting vitamins — checked 9 September 2026
- mygov.scot — Best Start Grant and Best Start Foods: how to apply — checked 9 September 2026
- ICO — What rights do I have over my personal information? — checked 9 September 2026
- Bounty — Bounty Pack FAQs — checked 9 September 2026
- Boots — Parenting Club join form — checked 9 September 2026
- Morrisons — Baby & Toddler Club help — checked 9 September 2026
- Pampers Club — Conditions of participation — checked 9 September 2026
- About Amazon UK — What is a Baby Wishlist — checked 9 September 2026
- BookTrust — Bookstart Baby for parents and carers — checked 9 September 2026
- Dolly Parton's Imagination Library — United Kingdom — checked 9 September 2026
- NCT — Nearly New Sale — checked 9 September 2026
- NHS — Best Start in Life email sign-up — checked 9 September 2026
This is information, not a guarantee of any payment, and not medical, legal or product-safety advice for your home. Prices and rules change; figures carry the date they were checked. Recall status comes from official records only — a product we cannot find is not a safety all-clear. Tell us if we got a fact wrong.