Guides · Baby monitors · Under £100

Which video baby monitor under £100 is best in the UK — and what do you actually get?

Which video baby monitor under £100 is the best choice in the UK?

We are not going to crown one. Below £100 the market is dominated by a handful of VTech models with a couple of Babysense and LeapFrog alternatives, and they differ in ways that only matter once you know your own home: screen size, whether the camera moves, whether there is an app, and how long the parent unit lasts unplugged. The table gives you the facts as the retailers and makers publish them; the sections after it explain what each column costs you.

Swipe sideways for the full table

Video baby monitors under £100 at UK retailers — specifications as listed
Model (retailer)Price on 9 Sep 2026ScreenConnectionClaimed battery (parent unit)Night visionOut-of-range alertSound activation / VOXTemperature display
VTech VM4252 (Mamas & Papas)£54.993.5-inch colour LCD, fixed camera angle, 2× digital zoom2.4 GHz FHSS, no Wi-Fi or appUp to 19 h video / 31 h audioAutomatic infraredYes — parent unit beeps (quick-start guide)Yes — VOX with sensitivity levels, preset highestYes
VTech VM4263 (Mamas & Papas)£59.99 (was £69.99)3.5-inch colour LCD, remote pan/tilt, 2× zoomDirect link to parent unit, no app; radio not named in listingUp to 19 h video / 31 h audioAutomatic infraredYes — parent unit beeps (quick-start guide)Yes — VOX with sensitivity levels, preset highestYes
VTech VM5467 (Mamas & Papas)£79.99 (was £89.99)5-inch colour LCD, remote pan/tilt, 2× zoomDirect link to parent unit, no appUp to 33 h video / 58 h audioAutomatic infraredYes — optional link-lost beep (quick-start guide)Yes — sound activation with sensitivity levelsYes, with high/low temperature alert tone
VTech RM4761 (Mamas & Papas)£79.99 (was £89.99)3.5-inch IPS parent unit + phone app; 1080p camera, pan/tiltWi-Fi (MyVTech Baby Plus app) plus local parent unitUp to 19 h videoAutomatic infraredNot stated in listingNot stated in listingYes
VTech RM5755HD (Mamas & Papas)£89.99 (was £109.99)5-inch HD parent unit + phone app; 1080p camera, fixed angleWi-Fi (MyVTech Baby Plus app) plus local parent unit12 h video (retailer) / up to 15 h (VTech UK)Automatic infraredNot stated in listingNot stated in listingYes
Babysense HDS2, one camera (Babysense UK direct)£95.99 (was £119.99)5-inch 720p, expandable to 4 cameras2.4 GHz FHSS, no Wi-Fi or app20 h in ECO mode / 12 h regularAutomatic infraredNot stated in listingECO mode (screen sleeps on silence)Not stated in listing
LeapFrog LF915HD (Mamas & Papas)£99.995-inch 720p IPS, remote pan/tilt, 8× zoomDirect link to parent unit; no app listed5,000 mAh; hours not statedColour night visionNot stated in listingNot stated in listingYes, plus humidity
Prices are the retailer's displayed selling price (with the struck-through previous price where shown) on 9 September 2026 at mamasandpapas.com and babysensemonitors.co.uk; they move weekly and the same models are stocked by Argos, John Lewis, Boots and Smyths at their own prices. Specifications are copied from the retailer listing, the maker's UK product page or UK quick-start guide; 'not stated' means we could not verify it and you should check the manual. No affiliate links; MayTally earns nothing from these retailers.

Two things also sold under £100 are not in the table because they have no parent unit: the VTech RM9761 Wi-Fi camera (£49.99) and the Owlet Dream Sight camera (£99.99), both at Mamas & Papas on the same date. They are phone-app cameras. If your phone is the screen, see the Wi-Fi column of our DECT vs Wi-Fi comparison before buying.

What features can you realistically expect below £100?

Reading across the table, the sub-£100 baseline in 2026 is more generous than it was a few years ago. Every model listed has automatic infrared night vision, two-way talk, a temperature sensor, lullabies and a rechargeable parent unit. What changes with price is:

  • Screen size. £55–£60 is 3.5 inches; £80 and up is 5 inches. The step is bigger than it sounds when the unit is on a bedside table rather than in your hand.
  • Camera movement. The cheapest model has a camera you aim by hand. From £60 you get remote pan and tilt, which matters once a baby moves around the cot or you cannot mount the camera directly above it.
  • Battery. VTech's Classic models claim 19 hours of video; the VM5467 claims 33. Makers' figures are measured under ideal conditions, so treat them as a ranking rather than a promise. Anything claiming 12 hours (the RM5755HD, the Babysense HDS2 in regular mode) is really a stays-on-the-cradle-overnight unit.
  • App access. Only the two RM-series VTech models offer a phone app under £100, and both keep a physical parent unit for when the Wi-Fi is down.
  • Resolution. 720p and 1080p appear from £80. On a 3.5-inch screen you will not see the difference; on a phone you will.

What you do not get below £100: split-screen viewing of two cameras out of the box (the two-camera Babysense HDS2 is £130.99), colour night vision except on the LeapFrog, humidity readings except on the LeapFrog, and any form of breathing or movement detection — which is a different product category with a different set of questions.

Is a non-Wi-Fi or Wi-Fi monitor better at this price?

At this budget Wi-Fi is an add-on, not an upgrade. The RM4761 (£79.99) and RM5755HD (£89.99) cost about the same as the non-Wi-Fi VM5467 (£79.99). For that money the VM5467 gives a 5-inch screen, motorised camera and a 33-hour battery claim; the RM4761 gives a 3.5-inch screen, a 19-hour claim and an app; the RM5755HD gives a 5-inch screen, a fixed camera, a shorter battery claim and an app.

So the question is what the app is for. If a partner works away or a grandparent babysits, the hybrid is the right shape, and its parent unit means a broadband outage does not take the monitor down. If everyone who needs the picture is inside the house, you are paying for connectivity with screen, camera or battery. How the two designs behave when the internet drops is covered in How do non-Wi-Fi video monitors work without broadband?.

Any Wi-Fi model brings the National Cyber Security Centre's checklist with it: change any default password, turn on automatic updates, and switch off remote viewing if you do not use it. A local FHSS monitor has none of those to manage.

Which screen, night vision and battery specifications matter most?

Swipe sideways for the full table

Reading the spec sheet: what the numbers mean at 3 a.m.
SpecWhat the listing saysWhat to ask instead
Screen size2.8, 3.5 or 5 inchesWhere will the unit sit at night? On a bedside table, 5 inches is the difference between glancing and picking it up.
Night vision"Automatic infrared" on almost everythingDoes the picture stay usable with the night light on? Test in the return window.
Battery"Up to 19 hours"Is that video or audio-only, and in which mode? VTech quotes both; the audio figure is roughly 1.6× the video one.
Range"Up to 300 m"That is outdoors in a straight line. Test in your own home before the first night.
Out-of-range alertOften missing from the listingDoes the parent unit beep, or only show an icon? Find it in the quick-start guide before you buy.
Sound activation"VOX", "ECO mode", "sound activation"Does it mute audio or only sleep the screen, and is the sensitivity adjustable? See our VOX guide.
Compiled from the manufacturer pages and quick-start guides listed in Sources, read 9 September 2026.

How much should a dependable non-Wi-Fi video monitor cost in Britain?

Based on what was actually on sale at UK retailers on 9 September 2026, the bands look like this. A local video monitor with a parent unit, night vision and a full-night battery claim starts at about £55 (VTech VM4252). Adding remote pan and tilt costs about £5 more (VM4263 at £59.99). Moving to a 5-inch screen with pan and tilt costs £80–£100 (VM5467, Babysense HDS2, LeapFrog LF915HD). Above £100 you are buying multi-camera split-screen systems (Babysense PRO one-camera £110.99, Babymoov YOO Roll £109.99 on the makers' own UK stores) or larger 7-inch screens.

Two cautions. First, the previous-price figures in the table show several of these models were £10–£20 dearer earlier in the year; a model above £100 today may not be next month. Second, price does not track reliability in any way we can verify: retailers do not publish failure rates, and the only public quality record — the GOV.UK recall list — covers all price points. The Babysense Max View recall of May 2026 (parent-unit battery, notice 2604-0191) was a £150-class product. The Lullaby Trust's answer to "which monitor is best?" is that no monitor has been shown to prevent SIDS, so "the best monitor is the one that meets your needs the most".

Which compromises are acceptable on a budget monitor?

Swipe sideways for the full table

Compromises: live with it, or pay to avoid it?
CompromiseUsually fine whenWorth paying to avoid when
3.5-inch screenYou check the picture briefly and mostly listenThe unit sits across the room, or you watch it to settle a toddler
Fixed camera angleThe camera is mounted above a cot and stays thereYou cannot mount it centrally, or the child moves around a bigger room
No appEveryone who needs the picture is at homeA partner or carer needs to see the cot from elsewhere
12-hour battery claimThe parent unit lives on its cradle overnightYou carry the unit around a long evening or travel without spare sockets
No humidity or colour night visionAlmost alwaysRarely — these are nice-to-haves at this price
Unknown brand at £30–£40Never worth the saving: no UK importer to contact, no recall history, unbranded plugAlways
Editorial judgement based on the specifications in the table above; no prices in this table are from a specific listing.

How should you compare current prices and warranty terms?

  1. Write down the exact model code, not the name VTech alone sells the VM4252, VM4263, VM5467, RM4761 and RM5755HD under near-identical names. Retailer search results mix them up; the code on the box does not.
  2. Check the same code at four retailers Argos, John Lewis, Boots and Smyths all stock most of these models. Prices for the same code differed by £10–£20 between retailers in 2026, and each runs its own promotions.
  3. Read the previous price, not just the sale price A "was £109.99" tells you the model's normal level. If today's price is a promotion, it can go back up; if you are not ready to buy, the normal price is the one to budget for.
  4. Compare warranty length and who honours it Most monitors carry a 12- or 24-month manufacturer warranty; the maker's UK page states it. Your statutory rights against the retailer under the Consumer Rights Act 2015 apply regardless, so a short manufacturer warranty is not the end of your protection.
  5. Check the return window is long enough for a range test You need to run the monitor in your own home, doors closed, for at least one evening. Buy from a retailer whose returns policy allows that.
  6. Register the product Recall notices reach registered owners first. It takes two minutes on the maker's site and costs nothing.

What safety checks should you make before using any budget monitor?

These apply whether the monitor cost £55 or £250, and whether it is new, gifted or second-hand.

  1. Look for the UKCA or CE mark and a named UK importer on the camera, the parent unit and the plug. GOV.UK guidance on placing products on the market in Great Britain sets out what the marks mean; VTech publishes a UKCA Declaration of Conformity for each model on its UK product pages, which is what a responsible maker looks like.
  2. Check the power adaptor is the branded one with the output printed on it matching the manual. Electrical Safety First's guidance on USB chargers explains why unbranded replacements are the common fire risk. A missing adaptor on a second-hand unit means budgeting for a branded replacement, not the cheapest one online.
  3. Search the model code on the GOV.UK recall list. Official records show parent-unit battery faults as the recurring monitor hazard. No listing means no recall on file — not that the unit has been checked. The full method is in How do I check whether a used baby monitor has been recalled?.
  4. Place the camera and route the cable out of reach of the cot, at least 1 metre away, and re-check once the baby can pull up to standing.
  5. Keep the monitor in its place. The Lullaby Trust states that a monitor can never replace a parent's or carer's supervision, and advises room-sharing for sleeps for the first six months.

In shortUnder £100 buys a competent local video monitor, and £80–£100 buys either a bigger screen or an app — not both. Decide which of those you will use every night, buy the exact model code from whichever of the four big retailers is cheapest that week, and spend the saving on the range test and the recall search rather than on a feature you will not touch.

Questions parents ask

Can I get a decent video baby monitor for under £60?
Yes. On 9 September 2026 the VTech VM4252 was £54.99 and the VM4263 £59.99 at Mamas & Papas, both with a 3.5-inch screen, infrared night vision, temperature display and a claimed 19-hour video battery. The VM4263 adds remote pan and tilt for £5 more.
Is a Wi-Fi baby monitor available under £100?
Yes, two kinds. The VTech RM4761 (£79.99) and RM5755HD (£89.99) pair a physical parent unit with a phone app. Camera-only devices such as the VTech RM9761 (£49.99) and Owlet Dream Sight (£99.99) rely entirely on your phone and home Wi-Fi.
Do the prices in this guide include Argos, John Lewis, Boots and Smyths?
The prices shown were read from Mamas & Papas and Babysense UK on 9 September 2026 because those listings were the ones we could verify that day. The same model codes are sold by Argos, John Lewis, Boots and Smyths at their own prices; check all four before buying.
Which is the biggest screen under £100?
Five inches, on the VTech VM5467, VTech RM5755HD, Babysense HDS2 and LeapFrog LF915HD. Seven-inch parent units start above £100.
Does a cheaper monitor mean a less safe one?
Not on the public record. GOV.UK recall notices cover monitors at every price; the Babysense Max View recall in May 2026 was a mid-priced model. What does track with very low prices from unknown brands is the absence of a UK importer, a Declaration of Conformity and a branded plug — which is a reason to avoid them.
Do I need a video monitor at all for a newborn?
The Lullaby Trust advises keeping your baby in the same room as you for sleeps, day and night, for the first six months, and says no monitor has been shown to prevent SIDS. A video monitor is useful for the times you step out of the room; it is not a requirement.

Sources

Official pages first. If this page and the official page disagree, the official page wins.

This is information, not a guarantee of any payment, and not medical, legal or product-safety advice for your home. Prices and rules change; figures carry the date they were checked. Recall status comes from official records only — a product we cannot find is not a safety all-clear. Tell us if we got a fact wrong.